Book Review: The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman (3.5/5)

Screen Shot 2014-07-22 at 2.35.12 PM

Rating: 3.5 Stars

Target: Fantasy for Everybody

Category: Fine Read With Some Deep Tidbits but Not Quite Off the Deep End

Review: I began The Ocean at the End of the Lane, not exactly sure what to expect out of it. Turns out Gaiman started it as a short story, then later extended it to a novel. I loved the character of Lettie and the friendship between her and the unnamed main character. However, the magic events happening in the book felt a little off. I think maybe it was too much outright magic. Perhaps it should have been just a pinch of magic, just a little mysterious sprinkling of it. That would have tied in better. In addition, I would have liked some more character development in the main character. I empathized a lot with the 7-year-old boy, especially when I read the lines, “I was not happy as a child, although from time to time I was content. I lived in books more than I lived anywhere else.” I would have liked more insight into his character, perhaps in a more linear time frame as he ages a few years. I probably won’t be rereading The Ocean at the End of the Lane, but I will take some interesting thoughts from it.

Writerly thoughts: strong points are the ocean at the end of the lane, Lettie, and the main character’s trust in Lettie

Leave a Reply

